Congratulations Cara Clairman!

Electric Vehicle Society established the “Howard Hutt Award for Excellence in the Advancement of Electric Transportation” to recognize individuals or organizations who have engaged in outstanding efforts towards the advancement of electric transportation in Canada.

We are excited to announce Cara Clairman, President and CEO of Plug’n Drive, as the recipient of the 3rd Annual Howard Hutt Award.  Cara is honoured for her long-standing work in the environmental and sustainability fields, especially for her notable and ongoing work at Plug’n Drive.

She first became involved in EVs in 2009 while working at OPG as the VP of Sustainable Development and realized that EVs would not only be beneficial for the electricity system and economy, but also for the environment. 

In 2011, Cara started Plug’n Drive, a not for profit organization committed to accelerating the adoption of electric vehicles that has since established itself as an unbiased source of information about EVs, charging stations, and the electricity sector. In 2017, Cara and her team launched the world’s first Electric Vehicle Discovery Centre.

Ms. Clairman has received numerous awards including the Women in Renewable Energy (WiRE) Woman of the Year award, Clean 50 award, and Electric Mobility Canada’s 2021 Al Cormier Award.

Her hard work and efforts in sustainability continue and she is often called upon for her expertise in webinars, conferences, boards, and media.

EV Society is proud to recognise Cara Clairman for her outstanding efforts and present her with the 3rd Annual Howard Hutt Award!

We had a number of nominee submissions, all of whom have done exceptional work towards the advancement of electric transportation in Canada.  The EV Society would like to acknowledge and thank all nominees for their past and ongoing hard work to advance EVs.